Day: 2011/05/30

What Lies Beneath

image provided by Deanna Marie at PoeticBloomings.Blogspot.com


WHAT LIES BENEATH

a gift beyond comparison
to discover
what has always been there
hidden
waiting to be found
little by little the façade is loosed
the masterpiece revealed
patient
is the Giver of such gifts

2011-05-30
P. Wanken

This picture was the prompt at Poetic Bloomings this week. I had not written anything as a response to a picture prompt until this past week, and now here’s a second one already! They have challenged me! …which is a good thing.

Upon first seeing this photo, I wasn’t sure what I was even looking at…so I moved on to my next prompt. Like my first attempt at writing in response to a visual image, this picture also kept coming back to mind. I thought I was going to skip this one…but I couldn’t let it go.

As I thought about what to write, a poem I had written back in January kept taking over my thoughts. So instead of a new poem, I reworded the old one to fit the image.