Day: 2011/05/11

When did it happen!?

Just yesterday I was thinking about the fact that I’m on the downhill slide to my next birthday. I’ll be 45 in less than four months! No longer “early 40’s”. Nooo-sirrrr-eeee. Can’t get much more “mid-40’s” than that. And I wondered how I got here. How did I end up 45 (nearly), never married, no kids? How did I end up middle-aged, buying sensible shoes, and alone? Though this poem reflects on that part of my pondering, I went on to think about the many blessings from the past decades — things I might not have gotten to do or experience had I been married with kids. I guess there’s always a trade-off. I also read this morning that even if the grass is greener on the other side of the fence, it still needs to be mowed!

So…no regrets. But I still wonder: “When did it happen!?

WHEN DID IT HAPPEN!?

When I wasn’t paying attention,
I began squinting in bad lighting,
their music became too loud,
and I bought shoes that were sensible.

When I wasn’t paying attention,
I became a middle-aged woman.

2011-05-11 8:20 p.m.
P. Wanken

written for Poetic Asides Wednesday prompt:  write a “when you’re not paying attention” poem

managing to write

Though I have been a bit overwhelmed with life these past couple weeks (and recovering from the pace of National Poetry Month in April), I have remained committed to posting SOMEthing each day. Writing has opened up an entire new world of expression for me, and I refuse to let life overwhelm me to the point of not writing. A friend suggested that my writing might even increase — I haven’t found that to be the case, but I have yet to allow the numbness and weariness to overtake my echoes.

So today…I eke out a simple haiku:

brandishing my pen
forbidding you to stop me
managing to write

2011-05-11
P. Wanken

The last word, “write”, could be substituted with “feel” or “grow” or “live”…all of which are encompassed in my new-found need to write…

written for Three Word Wednesday prompt: brandish, forbid, manage