Hotline

 

HOTLINE

IMG_6629.jpg

(Photo credit: Hello Turkey Toe)

dusk settles;
a shiver, linked to evening air,
races through me,

not a trace of sun
empty of essential warmth
I watched the sun set as the moon rose

pencil poised
tall, like a fence post,
ready to record chain of requests

following a recipe for absolution,
I too plead to be forgiven,
and check in with the operator…

“Prayer Hotline is now open.”

2012-08-26
P. Wanken

 

Inspired by The Sunday Whirl’s Prompt #71: dusk, link, trace, empty, essentials, rose, pencils, fence, chain, recipe, forgiven, and operator. Also posted for Day 54 at “100 Days of Summer” — click here to go to their Facebook page.

18 comments

  1. I love the prayer hotline idea, Paula, and “pencil poised
    tall, like a fence post,”

    I also got a kick out of your piku from Friday night!

    Like

  2. This is a delight, so well done I forgot you were using wordle words. I like the “pencil poised tall like a fence post” and the shivers of dusk. Lovely.

    Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...