Day: 2012/02/25

Independence Day

photo prompt at Flashy Fiction


Summers at the Cape as a little girl are some of my fondest memories. I hadn’t been back in several years, but our trip there in July 2010 is one I’ll never forget.

I had talked so much about my family’s summer vacations that Kyle had promised to take me to Cape Cod for a visit that summer after we graduated from college. He picked me up early on the 1st to make the nearly 250-mile drive from Albany. As we got closer to the shore, the memories hit me right along with the thick, salt air.

Suddenly, all I wanted to do was to run barefoot on Marconi Beach. To eat ice cream at Four Seas. And feed the seagulls stale french fries.

We had tickets that night to see Mary Chapin Carpenter at the Melody Tent in Hyannis. We were exhausted after the drive and an afternoon at the beach, but it was a great way to end an absolute perfect day.

The next two days were filled with comfortable relaxation. I enjoyed the familiarity of the sights and sounds even though I felt like I was seeing it for the first time. Kyle fell in love with the place, as well.

Sunday was the 4th of July. While we were enjoying our last day of sightseeing, we stumbled upon a small street fair. There were face-painters, and caricature artists, food vendors, and a few performers. We lingered a while to listen to the band. Kyle pointed to a shady spot, noting that it was a perfect dance floor.

Taking me by the hand he led me there. He twirled me around a few times; the last time I turned back to him I saw that he was holding a ring.

“Will you?” he asked.

#   #   #

Purely fiction…written for the photo prompt at Flashy Fiction.