Day: 2012/04/24

Language of Love

LANGUAGE OF LOVE

pedicures
and points
blue skies
and smiles
breakfast
in bed
kisses on
my head
platypi
and pals
wallabies
and coffee
shadorma
and piku
they all say
“I love you”

2012-04-24
P. Wanken

Written for Poetic Asides 2012 PAD Challenge Day 24: write a “love and/or anti-love” poem.

From Every Ending Comes A Beginning

FROM EVERY ENDING COMES A BEGINNING

memories unknown
tug at her words…and her heart…
at what had been hidden inside
your tin can; please…
so different than reality;
he didn’t make it
easier
than this lonely, broken heart can spare
of our memories;
never
complete without it,
the reason
they stopped coming
I still know all of my letters
end

I welcome God’s words: For I know the plans I have for you
for falling in love,
my soulmate, my wife;
never: give up,
to be rushed…

lost
I’m walking alone
me
…afraid someone will read between the lines and see my tears

You have moved…backwards,
and took a walk in the park
again
I miss you.
There’s just one YOU!

the Lord is my Shepherd
is the Giver of such gifts;
we reap the Spirit’s sweet fruit
their lives will create
once again;
His world fades to black
neither at midnight, nor noon
to give you life…
that I trust will shine on my world once more

it’s simple, really:
enjoy days of spring,
bask in His presence
seen in each spring bloom
and watered daily

to help you see it
I come back to write
of farm living…
the magic of another Christmas Eve
on which I sleep…
and favorite superhero underwear

and a writer was born

2012-04-24
P. Wanken

NOTES:  Written for Poetic Bloomings Prompt #52: From Every Ending Comes a Beginning — choose the last line of a poem previously written and use that as the first line of a new poem.

Because this is the final prompt of the first full year of Poetic Bloomings prompts, I decided to create a Cento poem (my first time!) from the final line of each poem I wrote for week #’s 1-51.

(One line I did not choose to include was from a limerick, and just didn’t fit: “which left her with a very flat cake.”)

UPDATE:  Chosen by Walt & Marie for a “bloom” this week at Poetic Bloomings!