Rainy Season

800px-Haystack_Rock_Aug2009

Haystack Rock (From Wikimedia Commons)

.

RAINY SEASON

Weariness wears on me
this dreary day.
Each drop of rain taunting me
haunting me, tear drops that won’t end.

Tears of heartache,
loss and abandonment.
Tears of betrayal,
hurt, and disappointment.

I cannot swim in such misery.
Clouds of despair envelope me.
I will never recover.

The rains of Spring seem endless.
Pablo wrote of Love and Despair
why do they go hand in hand?

I will not drown in the misery of this rain
or in the pool of despair.
I will rise above
with a fortitude unmatched,

like a solitary rock
as the tide subsides.

2016-04-19
P. Wanken

Shared at 1Sojournal for NaPoWriMo – Day 19.

6 comments

    1. Thank you, Elizabeth. Your prompt forced me to write more than a six-line shadorma. Not something I do very often as of late. As for being well-woven, thank you. I’m not one who “follows” the more surrealistic type of poetry so therefore tried my darndest to make the mish-mash of prompt pieces actually fit together. 🙂 As for the words clearing out the heaviness…I only wish I felt as “clear” as the writing portrays. I read your prompt once through, but gave little thought to each line of direction until it was time to write that line/part. So…having the “negate the lie” direction gave me the “turn” toward hope. Thanks again for your prompts this month — it’s been six Aprils now that I’ve been doing NaPoWriMo. It has been a good change of pace from the usual promptings. 🙂 /pw

      Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

