Remembering, At The Alamo

REMEMBERING, AT THE ALAMOBattle of Flowers Parade in front of the Alamo
(a shadorma)

The Battle
of San Jacinto,
where Texas
gained freedom,
celebrated Fiesta style,
Battle of Flowers.

2015-04-23
Paula Wanken

April 21, 1836 – Battle of San Jacinto: Being a San Antonio transplant from the Midwest, I knew that we have a Friday off every year in April for “Battle of Flowers.” I knew there was some historical significance, but wasn’t sure what it was. Asking around, I learned that many native to San Antonio also did not remember why we have the Battle of Flowers Parade. So I did some research. Well, now I know. Each year the Battle of San Jacinto, as well as the heroes who fought at the Alamo, are remembered in San Antonio with a week-long “Fiesta”, culminating in the Battle of Flowers Parade. That parade is tomorrow.

For more information: http://www.battleofflowers.org/about-us/history.aspx

Shared at Poetic Asides for PAD 2015 – Day 23: Historical

4 comments

    1. ViV – contrary to the picture I included here, the crowd at the parade is enormous…and I lean more toward solitude than crowds. (The other pictures I could find had so many people you couldn’t actually see the Alamo.) So…I probably won’t be posting additional photos. However — I did share a video on Facebook that was filmed by a friend of mine who has a drone he uses for filming. He recorded the River Parade from above! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

