Home Sweet Home

 
HOME SWEET HOME

This northern
girl has found
a home
away from home.

A city where
farm girl country roots
blend with a love
of the city of wind.

Seventh largest city
in the U.S.,
still with the feel
of a small town.

Business suits
accompanied by
cowboy boots,
seen at the office.

A trip across town
doesn’t take half a day,
but rather a mere
half an hour.

Cultural differences
have been overcome,
to call San Antonio
the place where I’m from.

2014-04-12
P. Wanken

 

Written for Poetic Asides April 2014 Poem-A-Day Challenge DAY 12: City 

7 comments

    1. I guess I didn’t describe my city very well – I wasn’t really talking about Chicago, I was talking about San Antonio. The blend of country and city. I grew up in Iowa, but lived 14 years in Chicago. And loved both the country and the city. San Antonio is a blend of both. (And…what took you to Chicago? How I’d have loved to go meet you there!)

      Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

