I’m Running Away To The Circus

 
I’M RUNNING AWAY TO THE CIRCUS

Life is hard,
I’m
running away;

I’ve packed my
bags,
I will not stay.

I’ve longed to
run
since I was five,

but I’m still
a
kid and can’t drive.

I’m made fun
of –
graceful, I’m not.

Ringmaster –
please,
give me a shot?

Fear of heights,
no
trapeze for me.

With these feet,
a
clown’s all I’ll be.

2013-10-23
P. Wanken

 

The prompt at Poetic Bloomings this week was to write a “clown” poem…which resulted in the final piku stanza here. Today’s prompt at Poetic Asides (#242: Circus) allowed me to fill in the story. Original prompt was at Poetic Bloomings #125: Laugh, Clown, Laugh.  Also shared at “100 Days of Fall/Winter 2013.”

3 comments

  1. I note that this is not your 1st reference to large feet. You know, I’m sure, that there are certain men out there who find this to be a significant asset…. Just sayin’.

    Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

