Unwind

 

Special Note:  I’m celebrating week #104 in a row of writing to the prompts at The Sunday Whirl — that’s right, two full years without missing a week! Thanks, Brenda, for the weekly inspiration!

   

UNWIND

Upon reaching the threshold
of her limits, for the ninth time,
a slight sigh escaped her lips;

with all her might, she drew
her sword. Skeptical of her own
control, yet bold in her effort,

she plunged the sword deep
into his heart (as she had often
imagined before). Tears saturate

her broken heart once again.

2013-04-13
P. Wanken

 

Inspired by The Sunday Whirl #104: saturate, control, bold, unwind, sword, often, skeptical, slight, might, sigh, ninth, and threshold. Posted for day 43 in 100 Days of Spring – 2013.

 

24 comments

    1. Thanks, LWM. I’ve only been writing for a couple months longer than I’ve been writing to these prompts…they’ve been very inspirational in my journey to discovering that I like to write poetry! The other prompt site, started a week after The Sunday Whirl, that has been extremely instrumental is Poetic Bloomings…they have a weekly prompt as well as “form” prompts. They are at http://poeticbloomings.com/ if you’re interested. 🙂

      Like

    1. Ha! Thanks for your visit, Mark. I’ve been so far behind in posting my wordles these past several weeks that I have been delinquent in making my rounds to visit others. Hopefully I’ll have more time for that this week since I’ve already posted. I miss reading yours!

      Like

      1. no apology needed, I have been worse than any in reading lately, life too a turn six months ago and i am redefining busy. It is all I can do to write with any regularity, and the reciprocal reading has suffered immensely

        Like

        1. It’s hard, isn’t it…because reading others’ work is such an enhancement to writing. And…knowing everyone’s busyness I’m even more grateful when friends stop by to read. Your visit is appreciated!

          Like

    1. Thanks, Marilyn — I’ve truly enjoyed the challenge of the wordles and cannot believe two years of writing them has passed so quickly. Some weeks have been harder than others and I have posted really (really!) late in the week, but those words niggle at my brain until they are wrangled into shape. 😉

      Like

    1. Whether real or imagined, she’s sure. 😉 (Thanks for all you do to keep us whirling, Brenda…great big cyber hugs to you for your support & encouragement.)

      Like

  1. Paula, you certainly deserve a huge round of applause for 2 years of consistent wordling! Impressive. And seriously passionate poem–excellent anniversary write 🙂

    Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

