Yesterday’s Wound

 

YESTERDAY’S WOUND

She stirred
ever so slightly
next to me.

My stillness
disguised as sleep,
and my mind raced.

It doesn’t take much
to jar memories;
in a hurry I am

across the world
in a foreign country
surrounded by sand.

The forgotten sound
of the whispered breeze
through the tree

that was to be my shelter,
is now the whispered sigh
of my sleeping bride.

2013-03-25
P. Wanken

 

Inspired by The Sunday Whirl #101: disguised, forgotten, country, hurry, tree, wound, mind, sand, stirred, jar, across, and yesterday. Posted for day 22 in 100 Days of Spring – 2013.

 

10 comments

  1. Hi Paula. I can completely empathise with that feeling of lying awake beside my love while he sleeps. I’m such an insomniac. It’s so true that the mind zips away at a million miles per hour then. Nicely done. 🙂

    Like

  2. I think many of us know how to disguise our stillness as sleep. It seems to be necessary for, for…deception? But why would we deceive the one we love? Oh, these troublesome questions!

    A Dozen Whirls

    Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

