Gumusservi

moonrise

moonrise (Photo credit: almostsummersky)

 

GUMUSSERVI

you
sparkled in the dark places
of my life
like
gumusservi:
the reflection of the moon

on dark water
ephemeral
and out of reach
you
are my gumusservi

2012-07-29
P. Wanken

 

I learned a new word at dVerse Poets Pub, where we were asked to write a poem using a word from another language. A few options were given as examples, and I decided to use “gumusservi” for my poem. Go to dVerse Poets Pub to read about this prompt and other poems written for the it.

6 comments

    1. Thanks for the visit, Anna…it was a great prompt and I love the word (even if I don’t know Turkish and therefore do not have a clue how it’s pronounced). And yes…how nice it would be to have a word in English that means the same. Until then, I’ll be thinking “gumusservi” in my mind (still not knowing how it sounds).

      🙂 ~Paula

      Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

