Into A Split On The Horizon

INTO A SPLIT ON THE HORIZON

her glow fades,
she crashes…crumpling
into the bruise
of darkness

crouching on the edge,
he waits his turn
to chisel a place
for himself

with each beat
–each passing tick
of the clock–
he draws her back

as her radiance
bursts forth,
piercing the darkness,
he disappears

into a split on the horizon

2012-06-03
P. Wanken

Inspired by the words from The Sunday Whirl Prompt #59: split, bruise, crumple, draw, burst, pierce, crash, chisel, crouch, glow, edge, and beat.

34 comments

  1. How very clever. Might be the first description of sunrise and sunset I have read, that is not cliche. I love it.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Richard! 🙂 I’m not exactly sure how my thoughts brought me to this topic for these wordle words…but it was one of those poems that, at the end, I smiled. (But maybe that was because I managed to figure out a way to use “bruise.”) 😉

      Like

    1. ah…enigmatic…I tried not to use the normal words one would associate with such a relationship…which, I believe, added the mystery.

      Thanks, Sharon!

      Like

  2. I also saw the night/day, moon/sun imagery in this one. That dance between two celestial partners – you brought it to life for us. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Elizabeth! I love writing about the moon — and I had a lot of fun writing this one, without using some of the “same old” phrases about the sun/moon relationship. I appreciate your feedback. 🙂

      ~ Paula

      Like

  3. Gorgeous writing, Paula! I especially loved your first stanza: “her glow fades,
    she crashes…crumpling into the bruise of darkness.” Spectacular!

    Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

