A Good Sport

A GOOD SPORT

every game he was there
in the stands, cheering me on
my biggest fan

without fail, he would come straight
from work, still wearing that Bulldogs tie and
brown suede coat

I wonder if he knew how much it
meant to see him there, even as I waved to him
from the bench

his unending love and tireless
support, taught me the most about being
a good sport

his lessons continue as I watch my kids play,
from my seat high in the stands, where I wear my coat
and Dad’s Bulldogs tie

2012-04-25
P. Wanken

Written for Poetic Asides 2012 PAD Challenge Day 25: write a “sport” poem.

4 comments

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

