Remembering…and Forgetting

photo by: Justin Jackson (prompt from Flashy Fiction)


REMEMBERING…AND FORGETTING

Damn flag.

I mean no disrespect to the colors of this nation. But…it’s another holiday. Another day to remember. And that’s the last thing I want to do. I made my way into town–to this saloon–to forget.

To forget how empty my life is without them. To forget that a son should never leave this dustbowl before his father. To forget that a mother’s heart can be so broken that she, too, is gone.

I just want to forget.

“I’ll have another—make it a double.”

#   #   #

Written for the photo prompt at Flashy Fiction.

5 comments

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

