Life’s a Blur

photo prompt from Flashy Fiction



When we moved to this neighborhood I was so excited our building would be near the park. The day we moved in we could hear the children’s shouts and laughter. We could hear the familiar squeak of swings. Balls bouncing on concrete. The rumbly whir of the merry-go-round. Those sounds brought a smile to my face…and impatience to our little Joey! He wanted to play and didn’t want to wait for our movers to finish.

At near dusk, when almost all the children had already gone home for supper, Joey finally convinced me to let him give the playground a try.

He climbed the monkey bars, slid down the slide, swung high to the sky, and, though I was exhausted, he even talked me into giving him a push on the merry-go-round. As I watched the blur of him spinning round-and-round, I would never have guessed our lives were about to spin out of control.

That was less than two years ago. And now, from the apartment window, I hear the children’s shouts and laughter. The familiar squeak of the swings. I can see the scene clearly, even though tears have blurred my vision.

Joey would have been seven today.

#  #  #

Written for the photo prompt at Flashy Fiction.

2 comments

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

