The Colors of My Day

THE COLORS OF MY DAY

Black.
The inky darkness
that envelops me.

Gray.
The dreary cloud
that covers my days.

Blue.
My eyes, like pools of water,
filled with tears.

Red.
My nose,
sore from blowing.

Green.
The color I see
on the other side of the fence.

Purple.
The bruise that is
my broken heart.

Yellow.
The brilliance of the sun
that I trust will shine on my world once more.

2011-06-07
P. Wanken

Written for Poetic Bloomings prompt:  Color.

UPDATE on June 11, 2011:  Wow! Thanks, Walt, for choosing this as your “pick of the week” for Poetic Bloomings! I’m honored…humbled…and grateful.  What a surprise ray of sunshine amidst some dark days!

6 comments

  1. Hi, Paula. This is a very creative use of the color prompt, and such a personal one, too. I admire you for your bright outlook at the end, which is not easy to keep when you are feeling down. Keep your head up! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Gordon.

      I’m always amazed at how I manage to still write about the stuff going on inside me, in spite of following a prompt.

      As for the “bright” outlook at the end…I think I know it in my head more than feel it in my heart……hopefully if I can keep my head UP, that knowledge will drop the “18 inches” it needs to, to really be known.

      Thanks for your feedback, as always!

      ~Paula

      Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

