When did it happen!?

Just yesterday I was thinking about the fact that I’m on the downhill slide to my next birthday. I’ll be 45 in less than four months! No longer “early 40’s”. Nooo-sirrrr-eeee. Can’t get much more “mid-40’s” than that. And I wondered how I got here. How did I end up 45 (nearly), never married, no kids? How did I end up middle-aged, buying sensible shoes, and alone? Though this poem reflects on that part of my pondering, I went on to think about the many blessings from the past decades — things I might not have gotten to do or experience had I been married with kids. I guess there’s always a trade-off. I also read this morning that even if the grass is greener on the other side of the fence, it still needs to be mowed!

So…no regrets. But I still wonder: “When did it happen!?

WHEN DID IT HAPPEN!?

When I wasn’t paying attention,
I began squinting in bad lighting,
their music became too loud,
and I bought shoes that were sensible.

When I wasn’t paying attention,
I became a middle-aged woman.

2011-05-11 8:20 p.m.
P. Wanken

written for Poetic Asides Wednesday prompt:  write a “when you’re not paying attention” poem

15 comments

  1. I’m feeling it, too. The big 5-0 sneaking up on me in 2012. Impressive to have lived half a century. That’s my new mantra. ha ha! Thanks for this piece. It’s right on target.
    ~Brenda

    Like

  2. Well, Paula, you’d better pay very close attention because next time you’re not looking, you may turn around and be 66! LOL, it happened to me…..and dang, it just snuck right up on me….I still feel the same!!! 😉 Nice job with this.

    Like

    1. Buddah, my friend! Thank you so much for stopping by…and for your encouragement! I do need to make my way back to writing…I’ve missed a few days…

      Like

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

