Painting My World   14 comments

“Seaside” by P. Wanken

PAINTING MY WORLD
(a shadorma)

now is not
the time for cities;
I’d rather
be headed
for a quiet seaside shore
to soak in summer

2012-06-26
P. Wanken



Inspired by margo’s Tuesday Tryouts post, encouraging us to use an image as the jumpstart to a poem about summer. For the image, I’ve chosen a painting done for a class recently (coincidentally enough, a class that I attended WITH margo).

Posted 2012/06/26 by pmwanken in Poetry, Tuesday Tryouts

Tagged with , , , ,

14 responses to “Painting My World

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m with you. Nicely done.

  2. Short & sweet, and what a lovely painting.

  3. Beautifully short and to the point! swing by and pick me up I’m all packed!

  4. Short and snappy! Thumbs up. :D

  5. I love this. I know I keep saying that about your poetry, but I do. You are so good with shadormas. I need to write myself a note to try them again. I keep forgetting.

  6. You are one talented lady. I saw Margo’s comment, and the mystery was solved when you mentioned having taken the class together!

    Shadorma is one of the few forms I take on, because it has an odd cadence that fits my free-verse personality. This one paints (!) a simply, peaceful picture, and I loved it, Paula. Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/06/27/skinny-dipping-adults-only/

    • Thanks for your visit, Amy…and for your kind words.

      Yes, I love the shadorma and it is also one of few forms I use. I love being able to be concise without having to worry about the topic or rhyming…just a little syllable counting and we’re all set! :)

  7. YAY!! Nice painting!! You talented person, you :-) Love the thought “seaside to soak in summer”

    • Thanks, Sara. The class is barely a step up from paint by number (it’s called “Painting with a Twist” — look it up on line, it’s nationwide). It is a lot of fun. ANYone can do it!

      Right now, the only think I’m soaking in is sweat…that seaside is sounding good about now. :)

Leave the echoes of your thoughts here...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 528 other followers

